Weekly writing check-in: the one with some writing

To be honest, I was a little scared to try the redraft. I wondered: would it work? Was this a crazy idea? One week in, and I think the word count speaks for itself.

I should be clear that I’m not copying what I already have in the first draft. Even scenes that stay mostly the same need to shift in subtle ways–characterization, world-building, and what-have-you. I have sudden thoughts, such as: Wait! I need to introduce the poodle!

I also received a check this week for a story I sold  a while back. In the memo line was:

For Incriminating Evidence

Incriminating Evidence is the title of the story. Still. It feels slightly illicit.

And, speaking of other stories, I got a couple out the door as well. So, all in all, it’s been a good week.

Writing Work:

  • Pansy 2.0 ~ 11,881 word

Submissions:

  • Doreen’s Muse
  • Like Bread Loves Salt

Rejections:

  • Like Bread Loves Salt

Acceptances:

  • None

Publications:

Keeping Quiet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Available in print and electronic format:

PrintKindleNookiBooksKoboSmashwords

Last week at $2.99 for the electronic copy!

Also available as a Kindle Match Book. Buy the Print version from Amazon and get the Kindle version for 99 cents! (Note: you must buy the paperback first for this to work.)

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Weekly Writing Check In, Writing, YA

One response to “Weekly writing check-in: the one with some writing

  1. I have recently queried 9 agents (yesterday actually) for my new book that I am writing. I really want to be with a traditional publisher. But, if not, I will probably end up self-publishing although I don’t really want to.

Leave a Reply

