Booking Through Thursday

 Booking Through Thursday:

This week’s question is suggested by Puss Reboots:

How much do reviews (good and bad) affect your choice of reading? If you see a bad review of a book you wanted to read, do you still read it? If you see a good review of a book you’re sure you won’t like, do you change your mind and give the book a try?

The only advice, indeed, that one person can give another about reading is to take no advice, to follow your own instincts, to use your own reason, to come to your own conclusions. ~ Virginia Woolf

I do read reviews, book blogs (like Book-a-Rama), and librarian blogs all in search of new books to read. I don’t put a lot of store in Amazon reviews, although I might look cross-eyed at a book that doesn’t have a lower star rating. A book with a really strong voice is bound to piss someone off–and sure, that someone could be me. More often than not, the review reveals more about the reviewer than the book.

And I admit that sometimes reviews might keep me away from reading the third/fourth in a series I was feeling meh about anyway (*cough*Stephenie Meyer*cough*).

But with so many books and not enough time (even if all I did was read, there still wouldn’t be enough time), I need some way to sort through all the possibilities out there. Reviews are a starting point, but certainly not the end point.

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Memes

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. It’s probably because I am old and jaded, but for all that there are so many books, sometimes it can seem as if there’s very little worth reading. Reviews remind me of possibilities I’d forgotten, help me notice books I might otherwise have dismissed. Like you, I regard reviews as a starting point for exploration; they do not guide my entire journey.

  2. Hey that’s me! I always get so excited when I see my blog mentioned on someone else’s. It’s like I’m five. Thanks!

    Some books have half the people loving it and half hating it. I never know what side I’ll be on but am willing to give it a try.

  3. I find the same thing. A very good book will always have a couple of one or two star reviews with sometimes nasty responses.

  4. Reviews influence me more in terms of the summary parts, which shouldn’t really be part of a good review, anyway. But that’s where I think… hmmm… that subject sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

