When friends think of you

I was going to do Booking through Thursday today, but I’m in a somber mood. I’m sure most of you have heard of the bridge collapse already. In fact, I know you have. I received so many emails asking how we were doing. I was startled and touched. I know I’m sometimes geographically challenged, so I don’t expect everyone I know “cyberly” to remember where I live.

 

I do drive across the Mississippi everyday, but I take a different highway. And yeah, I drove across that bridge this morning and it was a little weird. We can’t determine if Andrew’s bus for yesterday’s fieldtrip went over the 35W bridge. Uh, no one was talking at the Y this morning, but it’s another sobering thought.

 

I’d like to give blood, but I’m deferred (there’s no way to screen for Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease and I spent the late 80s and early 90s on a military base in Europe). In fact, I just heard back from an RN at the Red Cross. I used their “customer service” email. I didn’t want to tie up anything locally. She confirmed what I already knew.

But I’m making a donation today to the disaster relief fund. If you’d like to help out, you can find more information here: Twin Cities Red Cross.

5 Comments

Filed under Friends

5 responses to “When friends think of you

  1. Jenn

    I actually had NOT heard about that.. how scary. I can’t even imagine how horrible it must be.

  2. Jen

    Again, Charity, I’m just relieved you’re all safe. And it sounds from what I read that the field trip bus was there but that all the riders survived? Thank goodness Andrew wasn’t on a field trip yesterday!

  3. Charity

    Actually, Andrew was on a field trip yesterday (they go on one every day). We’re still not sure what route his bus took, but at this point, it doesn’t matter.

    From what I’ve read, all the children on the bus that got caught on the bridge did survive, as did the adults with them, although I read that one or two may be in serious condition.

  4. Darcy

    Oh wow. We had friends over for dinner yesterday, then watched a ballgame. I missed the news completely. This is horrific. I am so glad you and yours are okay — but sad for those lost or injured.

    -d

  5. Of course we worry and remember you :-)

    The moment I saw the news 9about 30 mins after it happened), all I could think of was, “Is C okay??” If I’da had your number I’da called and bugged you

    Glad you and yours are fine.

Leave a Reply

